Volunteer Spotlight: Mary McGowan

We love our volunteers! They are the heart and soul of our organization. We could not feed one in four Delawareans without their help! We recently sat down with one of our most committed volunteers, Mary! Mary comes to the Food Bank at least twice a week. We are appreciative of her commitment to our vision of a community free of hunger! Here’s what she thinks about spending time at the Food Bank of Delaware!

How long have you been volunteering at the Food Bank? I have been volunteering since March 2012. I read about the Food Bank in the newspaper in the volunteer section. When I called and spoke to the volunteer coordinator he told me what the Food Bank does and the process of how the food comes through -I felt that it was something I wanted to do. I love preparing meals for kids and knowing they are going right to a child in need. It’s very rewarding to know that a child is going to eat because of what we are doing.

Why do you enjoy volunteering? I like meeting different people. It’s such a diverse group, and everybody who works here is just so kind. I look forward to seeing the regular volunteers here. The Summer Nutrition Program is my favorite, and I also help stock shopper’s choice when Summer Nutrition ends. I also call the seniors to remind them of their CSFP box. Sometimes I feel like I’m the only person they’ll speak to during the day. They are very sweet and like to talk on the phone.

How does volunteering make you feel? It makes me feel like I am giving something back to the community. It’s rewarding for me. I find it to be a joy.

What would you say to others to encourage them to volunteer? I would tell them to come and see what needs to be done and to just look around at the volumes of food. If people are looking for something to do, it’s very rewarding. When I leave I am always happy! It’s not like a job where you may feel pressured, it’s just a lot of fun!

Thank you, Mary, for all that you do! We appreciate you!

To learn more about volunteering at the Food Bank of Delaware, please visit www.fbd.volunteerhub.com.

Leave a comment

Filed under Advocate, Supporters, Volunteer

Leave a Reply

