A Claymont Mobile Pantry

Thanks to our great group of volunteers from ING DIRECT who helped us distribute food on Saturday morning at our mobile pantry at the Claymont Fire Company! In addition to helping distribute, ING DIRECT also donated more than 200 backpacks filled with school supplies to help students start the school year off on the right foot!

We served more than 170 households for a total of 532 individuals! Families received 30-pound meal boxes, whole chickens donated by Perdue and a hygeine kit (in addition to the ING DIRECT-sponsored backpack)! Families and individuals were truly thankful for the assistance they received – everyone left the firehouse with a smile on their face. In fact, we started our workday this morning with an email thanking us for our services…

“Dear Food Bank of Delaware, I just want to say “thank you” for not only the food box I received for myself and my son, but also for the kind, respectful attitudes your workers/volunteers showed the many of us who were lined up today (Sat., Sept. 17).

It has been rough since I resigned from my job in June (for medical reasons), and I usually try to help others as much as I can, but I needed the help this time. It is a very humbling experience and I appreciate all you do! I would love to volunteer in the near future with your organization!”

What a great way to start the day!

Check out some pictures from Saturday’s distribution!

Organizations or individuals who are interested in sponsoring the mobile pantry to help families in need, may contact Larry Haas, Development Director, at (302) 294-0185 or lhaas@fbd.org.

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Hunger, Programs, Supporters, Volunteer

Leave a Reply

